Finkle Street

Today's the day ........................ for a few of my favourite things

This set of shop signs is to be found at the entrance to one of the yards off Finkle Street in Kendal. The verb to finkle is middle english, meaning to pet or cuddle - so Finkle Street is perhaps a northern version of Lovers' Lane. Anyway, the yard is a place I often go because it contains some of my favourite shops.

The Staff of Life sells a variety of freshly baked, home-made bread and cakes. It's worth going in there for the smell alone. Baba Ganoush (which I think is an aubergine in some eastern European language?) is a delicatessen with a cafe - just the place to go for an exotic soup and a roll at lunchtime.

And what can I say about David Graham's? I've spent many a happy hour in there. It's my indulgence. Mobiles don't work in there - you are never disturbed. It's my hairdresser .............................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.