Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Merry January

Out with my favorite munchkin today. She is growing up!

I came to Charlottesville to see Rosie and her wonderful parents and close friends of mine, Will and Julie. It amazes me how much she grows into a little person each time I see her. Where she was still just a baby before, Rosie's a stumbling talkative little girl now. I use stumbling and talkative generously here too folks. She has a long way to go.

I got in just in time for a big breakfast of eggs, fresh venison sausage, and homemade bread and jam before joining them for Sunday mass. I haven't been to church for years and it was a fun experience for the novelty and because it means so much to my friends. From there we wandered up to a wonderful place called Sugar Hollow on the edge of Shenandoah by a hidden reservoir in the hills through gorgeous rolling farmland.

It was cold. Ice-cicles hang from driftwood caught on the banks and dimples the spaces between the rocks by shore. Rosie uses her new found walking skills but can't keep up. She is too engrossed observing her shadow and picking up every pine cone she finds to give to us. Soon we have a collection filling up both arms! As the river was high we couldn't cross only about a half mile in and so sat down for a little picnic. Blueberry jam and peanut butter sandwiches never tasted so good with a steaming canteen of hot tea in such fine company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.