SocialScientist

By LuceoNonUro

Tile

I bought these beautiful tiles but have nowhere to put them.

I live in a rented flat that the owner had refurbished recently (just before i moved in) The flat is a huge old tenement with high ceilings and beautiful detailing. But the decor makes me despair. The landlord is lovely and admits he is not very good at decorating; I wish he'd asked someone's advice before he was let loose in here.

I just don't understand bad design - it's prevalent in offices and schools and so on, right across the land. Those horrible institution-blue static-fabric chairs and light 'wood' with those grey dividers. A world of shoddy plastic fittings and MDF. Awful.
Is it that difficult to mass produce items that are functional but also nice?

There are more pressing problems in the world, I realise, but this should not be left off the list! It's bewildering to me - clearly we are mostly agreed, as a species, on things we find aesthetically pleasing (eg. a big mountain, a baby penguin, flowers). So why are we allowing ourselves to be surrounded by such man-made rubbish? It's enough to depress a whole nation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.