Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

"Can You Lend Me A Biro?"

Now, there are some people looking at this blip and thinking:

"Ok, does she have enough pens? Seriously, how many pens can one person need! That's excessive!"

Then there are some people looking at this photo and thinking:

"Hmmmm..... Stationery.... Pens...Paper..."*insert drool*

Now I'm firmly in the "I Love Stationery" camp. There is something about pens, paper and general office supplies that I cannot resist. Especially if it comes in a funky box, or as a set. It's been like this since I was at secondary school.

I remember standing in line outside the school stationery shop, (also known as "Messy's Shop" as it was run by a Mr Messenger), once a week at lunch time. Only 2 pupils at a time where allowed in, to buy new exercise books, pens, files, pads of paper, art pencils, protractors, etc., etc. Your purchases went into a notebook, then the total was added up and it went on a bill at the end of term. I'm fairly sure I've still got some of those purchases knocking around nearly 8 years later.

Most of the stuff in this photo has been bought when on offer, or reduced to clear. The other week at a well known supermarket, they were selling Parker pens at 75p (while retailing the same pen in slightly different packaging at £7.00!!), a rubber & 10 pencils at 15p, highlighters at 50p! I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. I came out with a bag of stuff that would normally have cost around £30-£40 for I think £6.00!

I love paper too. Especially that lovely "Optik Paper" that means I can write all my uni notes on both sides.

It's an addiction. I know that there are others out there that feel the same.

The joy of new pad of paper. The thrill of a new pen! The bliss of a pack of sticky notes!

Ok, maybe it's just me....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.