all this useless beauty

By jasonjklewis

Random acts of kindness

One night last week the back tyre of my bike got a puncture... I was three miles away from home, it was cold and it was starting to rain heavily.

What to do? I couldn't see anywhere to chain it up, and even if I could there were no buses going anywhere near where I lived, I couldn't get the bloody thing into a taxi...

Then a rag and bone man with a van filled with rubbish sped towards me, in an act of desperation I stuck my hand out as if hitch hiking and, to my amazement, he stopped.

He was going in the opposite direction to me but was happy to turn round, I slung the bike on the back and struggled to find a place to sit in among all of the junk in the front.

It felt like an insane thing to do, but the driver was wonderful and dropped me at the end of my street, told me his name, shook hands and disappeared. So, whoever you were, thanks so much for being so kind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.