What did I see today...?

By DaveR

A Dustland Fairytale

So here's a potential ear-worm for you - 'A Dustland Fairytale' by The Killers.

I'm currently trying to work my way through all the music (excluding most but not all of my soundtracks) that I've got on my mp3 player, happily the 'title' option means I get everything in one massive playlist and it's all ordered by track # so there's a great deal of randomness.

On the bus home (bike still in a state of no gears, need to get that sorted) it popped on my mp3 player and in a semi-doze, surrounded by dozens of Spanish students, I started humming along and provoking general laughter at my awful lack of anything resembling tone. Anyway, music often conjures up a whole load of images depending on my mindset, and I was feeling at a bit of a loss in terms of what to do with my evening anyhow, so I decided to try my hand at sketching one out.

This image may actually seem familiar to some people, it took me a little while to place it myself, but I'm sure now that it's part of a freeze-frame from 'Wyatt Earp' (the one with Kevin Costner in). It's from a scene near the end if I remember correctly, which is meant to be the Iron Springs Gunfight from during the Vendetta Ride - where Earp and his friends chased down the outlawed cowboys who ambushed and killed his brother Morgan. In the film the cowboys attempt another ambush (whereas in real life both sides were surprised), but through the smoke and haze Earp spins and fires (without getting hit) until each of them is finally dead, wounded or fleeing.

A dustland fairytale indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.