A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Deaconess Hospital

I noticed this old sign in the Pleasance a wee while ago but haven't got round to blipping it yet.

This was a hospital opened by the Church of Scotland in 1894, primarily to train Deaconesses as nurses but also to provide medical care in what was once a very overcrowded and unhygenic part of town.

It became part of the NHS in 1948 and only closed in 1990. It was then headquarters for NHS Lothian until 2010. I am not sure what it is now but I expect it has been made into Luxury Apartments.

It looks scarily gothic here. I hope it is haunted.

I have a new lens. It is a 300mm lens which is almost as old as I am. I can't wait to try it but due to an administration error, my camera is at work and the lens is here at home. D'oh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.