midwife crisis

By lulubelle

round the bend

I didn't have to be into work today until 2.00pm, so I had the pleasure of travelling to Cork in the daylight, so much nicer to travel with the day time creatures of this world. I could see what was coming rather than having to do the night time second guess game....is it a bus, lorry, tractor, horse and cart, digger or farmer Gerry on his bike?.....all of which are impossible to gauge for width or speed until one is almost on top of them , at which point I've got 2 wheels heading towards the ditch and the words 'motherof maryand holygod' or ' bejesus' might pop out of my blessed little mouth. These are relatively new turns of phrase for me and significantly more polite and religious orientated than my Essex driving expletives from several years ago.

This is the River Bandon just before it's turns towards the village of Innishannon. I have travelled this road many times and like the way the road bends round beside the curve of the river. Sometimes there are fly fishermen after the brown trout that apparently frequent it waters, I've never seen anyone catch anything..... the story of the one that got away!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.