cherish what remains

By clothgirl

waiting room

The effect on sickness of beautiful objects, of variety of objects and especially brilliancy of color is hardly at all appreciated. People say the effect is only on the mind. It is no such thing. The effect is on the body, too. Little as we know about the way in which we are affected by form, by color and light, we do know this, they have an actual physical effect. Variety of form and brilliancy of color in the objects presented to patients are actual means of recovery.

Florence Nightingale



As I mentioned yesterday, my name was in the paper on Sunday. There was an article about the new Highlands Oncology Group Cancer Center. "140 pieces by some 20 artists, most from Northwest Arkansas a few from southern Missouri, were installed in the 55,000 square foot, two story building." Mine are in a sub-waiting room on the second floor, a place, I was told where families might be taken when privacy was preferred. Since we all know what that means, I tried very hard to create work that would soothe and calm, yet delight the eyes.

Photographically speaking, I think a different lens and better lighting might have helped. I learned a lot trying to take a decent shot in such a tight space, mostly about what I don't know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.