Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Saftey: Old & New

Shopping day, oh how I dislike you.

Supermarkets are in no way super.

Trolleys that don't want to go straight.
People with faces like a wet weekend in Windermere.
"Buy 2 get 1 free, even though you only wanted one in the first place!"

Could be worse, we could shop in that one with the blue and red logo. I only go in there when there is no other option.

I had a little detour on the way home, to St. Cuthberts Church, Kirklinton.
It is a Grade II listed building, with the current church being built in 1845 to replace an older one on the site. I'd never been inside until the OH was asked to do some work there. It contains a beautiful Norman chancel arch and pillars.

A bit more info can be found Here

While I was having a wander, I noticed that on the very old heavy lock plate (not sure of the technical name for the part), there looked to be a sticker. When I got a bit closer I saw that it was security of a different and very modern sort.

I wonder what the Victorians would have thought about "Smartwater"?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.