Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mesquite Pods Falling On My Head...

And that was just the beginning of this wonderful day.

It started out wonderfully, anyway. It was a glorious morning so I set my sights on a ride to Tubac. I always take at least a couple of bottles of water with me so I stopped at the corner store to pick some up.

I was parked under a beautiful Mesquite tree. I had the moon roof of my car open. (Can you figure out where this is going?) There was a small gust of wind and I felt a whole bunch of stuff on my head and down my back. It kept pouring in. My front seat was full of Mesquite leaves and seed pods.

That was the beginning. I did my thing in Tubac. Walked around, took some photos, scoped out some future blips. It was quite warm so I had to buy more water, too. Then I drove back up the highway past Green Valley all the way to Sahuarita to pick up some groceries.

I reached into my pocket and my little billfold with my license and credit card were missing. I drove the 35 miles back to Tubac to retrace my steps. Nothing. I had had a conversation with a Sheriff's Deputy about cameras so I even called their office to see if he had picked it up, knowing he had been around.

Back to Green Valley to the Motor Vehicles Administration office for a new driver's license. Had to wait forever. And when I asked the lady sitting next to me for her opinion on my hair color, she said I should write grey :-/

Wait. There's more.

I got home and picked up my mail but before I opened it I called and cancelled the credit card. THEN I opened my mail.

I got a notice from the Arizona Office of Taxation. I am being audited for my 2007 state taxes. I need to provide proof of all of my itemized deductions.

The bad news is, I have destroyed everything from 2007. No receipts left. Gone. It was my first year in AZ and I wasn't thinking. I will have to pay over $650 in taxes, fees and penalties over and above the taxes I already paid for that year.

So...how was your day? I wish I was a drinker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.