The high road

By Travellersjoy

Light in the Western Sky

Not much remains of this castle, that I pass on my journey to and from work, today I decided to go for a little investigate. the initial walk along the coast was pleasant but the adjacent fields were fenced right up to and in places onto the rocks at the back of the beach. The two strands of electric wire were quite intimidating and meant scrambling over slippery rocks nearer to the water, with the tide coming. Reaching my destination eventually in the fading light, the castle became a silhouette against the setting sun. I think Light in the Western Sky was an old Stocktons Wing album title! The view is of Dunmanus Bay and Sheeps Head on the right.
Tried to take a shortcut back across the fields, which took ages, I've never seen such extensive electric fencing, which I had to crawl under! Very glad to get to Schull to meet Rachel and enjoy friends Kenny and Anna playing in Hacketts Bar, love these early evening music sessions, great end to the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.