Rob and the world

By MtEmie

Very superstitious...

This is my rather elegant bottle of Jura 'Superstition' given to me by my pa at Christmas. It doesn't state how many years it's aged but the blend is up to 15-16 year (so I've been told). I have a whole new appreciation for whiskey since my bike trip around Islay back in August (larger island south of Jura) so I was so pleased to have been given this bottle....!

I'm sure I'll visit Jura one day...you can see it quite clearly from Islay...it must be an interesting little island. It has population of around 190, a population out numbered 30 to 1 by red deer and only one distillery, Jura.

'Jura is an island wrapped in superstition.
Never cut peat before May and always finish a bottle of Jura on the day it's opened...The Ankh cross (on the bottle's front) is an ancient symbol dating back to Egyptian times and is long rumoured to bring good fortune. Just as long as you drink the whiskey in the correct manner. The islanders believe that good luck comes by holding the bottle with the Ankh cross in the centre of your palm.

Observe the this ritual, they say, and good health and fortune will surely follow.


(I'm doing well so far, apart from the drinking it on the day it's opened...I'd go blind if did!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.