detail of second birthday cake

The funny thing with birthdays is that until you reach a certain age you really do not what you are going to get and I am talking not about the gifts, more the reaction of the person whose birthday it is. Since our little get together yesterday for the number one son, our window sill has been piled up with gifts and cards for him. Any child probably at least one year older would have been having a neb to see what was going on, but not the two year old.

I think he simply associates the singing of 'Happy Birthday' with people being happy and a bit of a round of applause afterwards. It was therefore no surprise that he was somewhat nonplussed by the opening of presents.

The cake made by our extremely talented friend Caroline la Reunionaise, was a major hit. Despite the fact that she has until now always decided against venturing out professionally making cakes, I have to say, I've rarely seen a better cake. I have placed my order for the end of the year as she can apparently create a peaceful beach with a bath tub on it and in a corner a fire, yep my warped idea of paradise.

So Happy Birthday wee man!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.