Adventures in Latvia

By ekswyzed

Burns Night!

I had the foresight to buy a haggis in England while I was at home for Christmas, which lived in the freezer for a month here. I didn't expect it to be so difficult to find "neeps" though.

So I went on a mission to find something suitable and was filled with feeling of my first proper Burns Night, when I briefly moved to Aberdeen in January 2006.

As I walked through the darkness of Daugavpils, specks of snow seemed to sparkle under the street lights, just as the buildings twinkle in the wintry sunlight of the Granite City. Happy memories of a place I loved to live in and could easily have stayed.

With some kind of turnip and a bottle of Johnnie Walker - which I don't think I'd ever had before! - I headed hame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.