Look Out Below!

We took outselves across to Linlithgow Loch this afternoon just to see what we could see. There were tons of water-fowl close to the shore as that was the only ice free bit of water.
This well grown cygnet came in low over the ice, scattering assorted ducks, coots and moorhens before skidding along some ice then belly-flopping into the water.
Looking at this bird, I really cannot understand where the old "Ugly Duckling" story came from. Cygnets may be grey/brown but ugly? Not in my book!
There were a few birds there which I did not recognise so I will be rummaging through an old book of British birds shortly for identification. There were also three big-time serious bird photographers hanging about and taking hundreds of photos. Mag was a bit embarrassed with the wee point & shoot and even my Canon looked somewhat inadequate against cameras which cost the same as a smart new car!
The weekend is looming; Friday tomorrow (Must put the bin out!) but I think it will be c-0-l-d! Wrap up warm everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.