Click goes the Shutter

By RomaWhaup

Another bridge

The weather has been wonderful today - very bright, sunny and cold - and ideal for dog walking! My photos this last wee while have been of the Penicuik Estate - partly because it is scenic and interesting and partly because that is where I spend several hours every day!

This is the Roman Bridge - I'm not sure why it is called that as I expect this bridge wasn't here when the Romans were. It lies in a direct line between Penicuik House and the Allan Ramsay Monument - the line in this photo. It is in pretty poor repair and is closed at the moment and will hopefully be renovated sometime soon. There isn't much of a path on the other side - just a very steep, hard packed slope that can be scrambled up, but I have used it as a short cut to the other side of the valley in the past.

Can you see the dipper on the stones on the far side of the bridge?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.