Simple Things

West to Corstorphine Hill from Dean Bridge, Edinburgh. I was on the way to The Filmhouse for an evening in the delightful company of Marchmont - where the film is often excellent, and always incidental to the just-being-there. Although I haven't seen an '18' film for lots of years due to being a big scardey pants, we saw Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (despite a fair amount of skin, I didn't actually spot a dragon tattoo...). Anyway it was really good, but I'm glad I read the book first to follow some of the subtler plot lines - it was 2 1/2 hours long, but they still hurried various things. Don't take your grandmother but a good film. See if you can spot the eponymous tattoo.

The day was bright and I diary-blocked out lunch so I could get out and about. Steve came for a wander, which was great - we're still working together after 10 years and 2 companies. It's good to have that continuity.

I picked up another Lamy 'ABC' pen to complete my set. These are supposedly for children, but I've constantly used the ones I bought in Amsterdam 15 years ago. They weren't available in the UK until recently - when one of my originals was stood on and broken, I phoned Lamy UK to be told that Herr Dr Lamy (German bloke) didn't approve of UK teaching and wouldn't have them sold here. So, I sent it to Lamy Germany with a note lying about my children using it, and they sent me a new one. How nice! Those were red, and now I have blue ones too. So, I put turquoise blue ink in the blue pen and red in the red, the red pencil is thick and the blue pencil is thin. Brilliant.

Simple things, eh?

Late home and a bleary head after cutting the train a bit too fine, so this is back-blipped from Friday morning. It's dawned bright and the forecast is good, so I'll get out on a bike later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.