Views of my world

By rosamund

Heron

I had just about a perfect Sunday.

I woke up before 9 and decided to get up and warp up my knitter's loom with the combination of pinky red silks I've been spinning. Whilst doing this HMS Illustrious, a helicopter carrier arrived on the Clyde so I popped outside for a quick blip in case nothing else should present itself. Unfortunately I will probably be at work whilst they do any manoeuvres which is a shame as we spent a whole afternoon last year watching the helicopters circle the river and mountains and come into land again and again, of course with my iPhone I could barely capture any of it at all, but now I'm in with a much better chance.

I finished my warping as well as the spinning I was doing yesterday. Freya and I then went out for a lovely coffee with Marisol at Cafe Bongio in Inverkip and had a nice wee walk on the beach behind the marina. We saw this majestic heron on arrival at the beach and I took so many shots it was really hard to choose, some were better than others though and this one seemed to be my favourite in the end.

We spent a while also watching the seagulls as they were catching mussels and dropping them on the rocks from a height to smash them and then eat the meat. I have such a lot to learn before I can even been to hope to capture that action, I did try but I just couldn't get the hovering gull and the dropping shellfish in the same shot, in focus before they both plummeted to the ground.

After that I did some errands and chores and am looking forward to relaxing with Carlos tonight, refreshed and ready for the new week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.