Moonlit Mud

Looking over East Linton to the North Sea from Kippielaw, East Lothian. I got out for a late afternoon ride, thinking I might catch the sunset but the moon in the east was much more interesting. It was chilly, muddy and very very good fun. The little winter bike was once again a barrel of laughs. Ploughing through sticky freezing mud on a bike with skinny, knobbly tyres might not be everybody's idea of fun, but they have no idea what they're missing!

Big(ger) Muddy Bike.

Some more from this evening on Flickr. I liked the long crop with the bike and moon on opposite sides, but I'll leave that idea for another day :)

I started out riding out to Biel, west on the A199 and then across fields and very quiet roads to Kippielaw. The descent from there is fairly mental, taking you down near Hailes Castle. On the return journey east I got off the A199 after East Linton by nipping in at Knowes and then taking the farm road to Tyninghame Bay where I got the moon reflection shots. Then round the Tynefield paths to Hedderwick and home, about 1 mile of busy-ish roads in the whole ride. Good loop! Hosed the bike down when I got home.

Other than that, a beautiful day spent commuting to the office, indoors all day until I managed to get on my bike. Now a quiet evening with a documentary and some reading, and a trip to the dentist tomorrow morning to get this tooth seen to before it becomes an issue. Toffees and fillings are a bad combination!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.