A Year in Phnom Penh

By nellbj

Fighting the Good Fight

I've been fighting a real sense of apathy lately, a result of being run down physically which in turn leaves me feeling useless and tired and unable to cope.

So on Sunday I decided to fight my natural leanings towards spending the day struggling through a 'should do this today' list, abandon my masters study and jump on a tuk tuk with friends to go see something which really would inspire my fighting spirit...Kmae kickboxing.

It was an amazing afternoon in every way. Travelling to the fight site we passed through areas of Phnom Penh where not many tourists go and were met with smiles, waves and general good spirit, reminding me of why so many people love the Cambodian people.

At the fight, held in a large warehouse-like building on the outskirts of Phnom Penh, the stalls gradually filled with a Cambodian crowd of men, women and children, young and old (although heavy on the male and young side).

While the fighting was the focus, it comes with a furious betting scene, an insight into young Cambodian fashion consciousness and some amazing snake-charming-style music. TV cameras were also present, streaming live images to hangbeys (restaurants) around Phnom Penh and the rest of the country, where men would be shouting, gesticulating and jumping up and down as the fights progressed.

Throughout the fights, bookies in the arena were talking into boards of 20-50 mobile phones, broadcasting commentary to bet-placers all around the country without a visual on the event (see photos on my Facebook page).

The fights themselves were graceful and brutal at the same time but filled with honour and tradition.

Next time I'm feeling my anxious malaise, I know exactly where to give it a mean right kick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.