Ana Bolena

This is the costume that the late Dame Joan Sutherland wore when she took the role of Ana Bolena in the opera of the same name, at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

It is one of the exhibits in a special collection on view currently in the foyer and in the Amphitheatre Gallery.

The on line collection of costumes may also be of interest.

This is her costume for Violetta Valery, in La Traviata

I was in London for the day for the final dress rehearsal of "Le Nozze di Figaro", the marvellous opera by Mozart. I can get cheap tickets for such events (as long as I spend time on line when they first go on sale) because I am a "Friend of Covent Garden" and it's wonderful. They are usually late morning - with a long interval when you eat your Marks and Spencer sandwiches - and finish before three.

I had heard Ildebrando D'Arcangelo (Figaro) on CD and he was superb as an actor. His leading lady was Aleksandra Kurzak, a Polish soprano who is most definitely a name to watch. She was a terrific Susanna, and she has a voice to die for.

Cherubino was played by Italian mezzo, Anna Bonitatibus, (what a name!) - terrific in the role of the naughty young page.

But the real star for me was Sir Antonio Pappano, whose conducting brought out such subtleties from the orchestra. I have never heard them play better.

I was joined by two good friends - a great day to remember.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.