notabeve_dosolare

By notabeve

Love Potion Number 9 0 2

K introduced me to the newest members of the U of S dairy family today. Having a calf suck on my hand produced the same tickly giggly feeling that I get when a puppy licks my ear, but slimier.

These little heifers are about a month old. They have numbers rather than names. They live in warm straw bedded individual stables with enough separation between them that they won't infect each other if one gets sick. I forgot to ask, but I'm guessing that they're pail fed their milk as well as getting hay.

Flashback: My Dad showed us when we were kids to immerse our fingers in a pail of warm milk so that the calf would suck on fingers until it got the idea that the pail was where food came from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.