Matt Bargery's Blips

By mattbargery

St Martin-in-the-Fields

This is St Martin-in-the-Fields viewed from the NE steps of Trafalgar Square this morning. Behind me in the centre of the square was an Amnesty International rally with various orators speaking about the Arab spring and the huge political progress made in the Middle East during 2011. I have to confess I was not there for this reason; more simply i was just in the area, the light was crystal clear and I had the camera with me.

I was in the area after seeing the Lucian Freud and Taylor Wessing Photography exhibitions at the National Portrait Gallery with my friend Sarah which were both excellent - highly recommended. The photography competition had over 6,000 entries!

After a very cultured and inspirational morning at the NPG I was well motivated to take some shots afterwards. Unfortunately I didn't have a great deal of time which kind of forced me to really concentrate on a few simple ideas.

This is a shot that I might try and keep revisiting every now and then to see how it changes through the seasons and in different light conditions. There are a few things I would like to change with photoshop (traffic cone, shadows on steps etc), but for now the imperfections are tolerable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.