Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Can You Hear Me

Mother Father?

I took my dad to the hospital to have his hearing tested. This is him in a soundproof booth trying to hear various noises and pressing a button every time he does. He didn't hear many but the consultant persuaded him to give his hearing aids a chance.

I can now speak to him without having to shout. Unfortunately, I can hear feedback from his hearing aids which he can't and it's driving me crazy!

Not much sleep last night. Dad had a fit at 11pm. He was lying on his back with his arms outstretched and his feet thrashing. He looked like he was auditioning for a crucifixion scene in some Biblical epic. Lucky that I was there and that I hadn't gone to bed as I was watching the BAFTAs. I dread to think how it would have ended otherwise. I managed to get some glucose solution into him and eventually the spasms stopped. I'd called 999 and a paramedic came along to find him sat up in bed. Between us we kept feeding him (and gave him two egg cups worth of honey) to get his blood sugar levels up.

He brought it on himself by not eating enough when he was supposed to. He's a stubborn sod. I think the shock of last night will make him a bit more cooperative for a while - I don't think he's ready to shuffle off this mortal coil just yet. If he does it again, I'll murder him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.