2+3+1+1

By tpd

commuting

I finally got around to digging out a spare hub I had in the big drawer of bike bits to measure it up to order the parts needed to build a new wheel. I like building wheels; it doesn't take long to do and it's kind of like lego; there's a certain satisfaction in getting the spoke lacing right, tensioning up the spokes, making the wheel round and then true.

This is destined to go onto my commuting bike which is about to become a single speed. I've been meaning to do it for ages but just never got around to it. The route to work is pretty flat (apart from the big hill at the end) so I don't need much in the way of gears but the really big issue is that if you're doing regular, frequent commuting by bike 3/32" chains wear out incredibly quickly. Time to swap to 1/8" and get spinning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.