For the family

By RonaMac

I promise I won't get arrested!!

An email this morning tells me that our application to run a workshop at conference in Beijing has been accepted!! That's the good news, the bad news is that we will have to start saving as we are paying all our expenses...yet again!!

This is the 7th year that I have been involved with a small "workshop" team that have had the magic opportunities to travel to Christchurch New Zealand, Rotterdam, Cairo, San Francisco, Vancouver and Glasgow. Three of us travel together and take the opportunity to see a little of the countries we visit, even if it is only a couple of days at the start and finish of conference, but we aim to have some fun (and succeed).

T & I the oldies in the group and for the last 3 years have said "no more", but didn't like to let the team down as we couldn't find some to substitute for us. Glasgow was to have been our swan song. It is not the easiest thing to do, standing up and speaking to a large audience and you do wonder if it is worth it. I could spend the money on a trip for 2 with hubby.

So why are we in this position again? Having listened to the rousing opening ceremony in Glasgow with bagpipes etc and being all enthused, we heard that the conference dinner in Beijing would be in the Olympic Stadium, we looked at one another and said "why not one more". But no more I promise!!!!

Connecting with the bicycle them from yesterday and the fact it is Valentine's Day. She is one of my favourite singers and the words say it all!!
She has a tour in the UK in October and we hope to get to see her, before my trip!!!

Back to the title...
B & I visited China several years ago. Whilst I was taking pictures in Tiananmen Square, I snapped a few of an "elderly lady with a collection of bags" who was arguing with an ever growing group of men in uniform. Next thing I knew one of them was marching towards me. I have no idea of what he said, but kept pointing at the camera. I then proceeded to show him all the earlier pictures of "whatever", all 50+ of them. When I got to the picture of Chairman Mao I switched the camera off again, smiled sweetly at him and shrugged my shoulders.

B was not amused at my antics!!! I do promise I will be more careful next time!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.