CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

QUEEN MUM

I was going through Dad's photos again and came across this, which I remember him putting together several years ago. Left is HMQ ERII godblessher, and right is My Mum, aged 30-something. I always thought I was a secret princess. There's a family legend that there was some old French aristocracy somewhere on Mum's side, but the more research my sister does, the more stout English countrymen and labourers she uncovers with not a whiff of nobility, which is probably all to the good. Dad just adored Mum through all 57 years of their marriage, and so there are hundreds of photos of her, and not nearly enough of him.

Behind Dad's document is the work I really should be doing today - updating databases. Thank heavens for Radios 4 & 4Extra is all I can say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.