a w a y

By PoWWow

Not a heart in sight

I think I've managed to figure our new clients out, and be able to provide a rough hypothesis of how the week might reveal itself to us: at dinner service last night I grappled around trying to create some sort of atmosphere- or at least break the deafening fierce silence that surrounded the dinner table [with the exception of one fun member who was getting slowly pissed on expensive whiskey he'd brought + after giving up on trying to get a response from his family members, began heckling the cook + regaling wisdom passed down to him through his generations]: "Wow kids, I'm really impressed- you've gobbled up all your dinner" I'd coo at the cluster, neatly and efficiently sitting to dine with the adults with impeccable manners, in an attempt to convey my honest relieved reaction that the food had actually been eaten, as opposed to the usual drama that presents itself at tea time for the totties that usually goes; "No. No. No. I won't it. No" to which I bite my tongue + desperately hope that my screaming thoughts of you don't know how bloody lucky you are child aren't somehow visible to these people we spend so much time trying to please. "Well of course they've finished their food.." one of the mums replied [who couldn't bring herself to shake my hand when I'd introduced myself in my best Oxford accent not long before] "?they all eat in Michelin star restaurants and certainly know what good food is." And I think I continued to go "Wow, ummmmm, wow" for a bit whilst attempting to pile up the perfectly polished plates along my arms hoping to honkers that I wouldn't commit a clumsy act, especially as I was now receiving some interesting, if not scathing looks from the Mum in question. I think I'll try to be not seen and not heard this week, if that is at possible.

And as Dan and I were fussing around swapping car keys, folders, stolen chalet bananas and updating on niggling jobs to be done alongside reporting on unnecessary lifts that were needed as we stood beneath a dense cloud of icicled spears swapping shifts, Conn came out to fire up a Marlboro Light + exclaimed; "It's Valentine's Day guys!" We both looked up to the spears sitting above our heads in thoughtful surprise; "Nice one, pub tonight then?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.