Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Portrait of a Friend

I hardly ever submit photographs of people to Blipfoto. However, some experiments this evening have produced what I think is a very nice picture of a most photogenic friend.

The friend is none other than Bundle, a recently joined, but already loyal, user of Blipfoto. Her contributions are remarkable for their technical excellence as well as their fascinating content.

The 'experiments' to which I referred prove a point: that rapidly snapped shots of people often turn out better than more carefully set up and posed portraits. In fact, Bundle and I had been discussing her new camera, and in particular were considering the virtues of being able to set aperture priority and thus control the depth of focus. Just to illustrate the point, I showed her the rather limited control that I have with my Coolpix S520, and merely clicked the camera while pointing it at her. Three quick snaps, and three rather nice photographs emerged.

Of course, you might well ask how come, if my camera cannot be made to have a wide aperture, our photograph looks like this...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.