I spy with my little eye

By roaminaround

There you Arria!

Mission started, "E" dropped off at school with a clothes bag for recycling that he could hardly carry!
Focus......Cumberchookle.......Mission to find Arria.
I have blipped her before from the motorway, but I wanted the up close and personal experience. I had checked out Google maps and discovered that I was not that far away from her the other day, (just down the hill and turn right!). I also discovered she is not far from my work or the garden that I blip regularly so I will have to do some more detailed exploring.

I had been given instructions that she stood near a local cemetery and although it felt strange strolling through the cemetery at an early hour, it was very peaceful and serene and then......there she was, arms outstretched embracing everything that she surveyed. She is a very strong ,comforting, motherly effigy. I can't call her a statue , installation, a piece, she has a personality. She has a presence, an iconic figure, a projected image.
Okay poetic license is over now, but I will visit again as I could feel a friendship forming :)
NB.
It has had a strange effect on the rest of my day and I felt the urge to visit the resting place of my Gran and Papa. What will the rest of my day contain I wonder....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.