Ring of Tyres

By Tyres

Triumph

Did it! Managed to grow a courgette outside in Orkney.

Yes, I know it's no affie big.

And aye, it's a bit peellie wallie.
(I think due to there being a lack of light at the bottom of the tyre stack)


But it grew, without a greenhouse. Just a few auld tyres, a bit of plastic bag that started life as packing for something or other, a bungee to tie it on... plus loads of good manure rich soil and a lot of encouragement.

It probably would have got bigger and darker but I was too excited and couldn't resist picking it. I know this is very sad but I am just a wee bit pleased about this achievement. Others have done it too but it's a big moment for our garden.

Tomorrow I shall have it for my tea!



BTW It's sitting on a small chopping board the courgette probably only measures about 15cm. And I don't want any smutty comments from anyone... OK!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.