A moment in time

By Skyegirl

The Old Parish Church

A wet and windy day today. After doing some housework in the morning and generally pottering, I felt the need for some fresh air, even if it was wet fresh air, so took a walk down to the old village, a pleasant enough walk although it was a bit wet. From there I headed over to the modern town centre, and while browsing in a shop which has a closing down sale, got a phone call on my mobile from B. He had been working in the greenhouse when I left, and it appears that I locked the back door. As he did not have a key with him, he was locked out! Oh dear. So I headed home and placated him with coffee and toasted raisin bread!

My blip today is of the Old Parish Church, which dates from 1774 although there has been a church on the site since 1178. The clock tower is dominant in the village, and it has a nice crown spire, which is a bit unusual.

In the foreground of my picture is the Loupin On Stane, which was used to facilitate the mounting of horses by ladies, so I am told. I wonder if they were leaving the church or the pub (the building to the left of my picture).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.