Snow

The conference ended at lunch today and then we all said goodbyes. It's been great. Presentations went well and met loads of interesting people.

Then it was back to Christchurch, via Arthurs Pass. Unfortunately, or fortunately really, another storm has hit NZ and even more snow has fell. This meant that the pass was closed in the morning, but reopened by lunch. By the time I got there however it had closed again, a truck had slid off the road. Finally around 3.30pm it opened again, chains on all vehicles, including my 4WD Subaru. I took pole position and shot off on the newly opened road before any slow coaches had a chance, almost to my demise. The road was very slippery and rather foolishly maybe I was blipping and driving. I soon stopped that after a major fishtail event where I nearly clipped a bridge. Ahhem, drive to the conditions ;-)

Anyway, made it safely to Arthurs Pass and shot this photo. What you can't see is the grader driver to the left, and a truckie in his shorts(!) asking what the conditions were like. All trucks had to park up for the night. The snow lasted for another 40km or so to Porters Pass and man, was it heavy. Good skiing tomorrow if the fields are open, and you can get up them.

Back in Christchurch now, off to the office tomorrow - they might be wondering what I look like ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.