Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Finally

Back in the day me and my Mum used to play Scrabble all the time. I'd bet that the set hasn't been dusted off in 18 months. Tonight we decided to dust off the dictionary and lock horns again in a classic parent v child contest. Why? It's Mums birthday.

Seems a long while since we last celebrated her birthday, and a lot has happened. For those who don't know I owe quite a bit more to my Mum than just her being my Mum. I would have lost my house in 2008 had she not offered to move in, and then back in 2010 I would have been out of a job had she not set one up for me at her place. In a few short months everything went tits up and both of us ended up out of work. I guess this years celebration is as much about moving on as it is her getting a year older.

Mind you I won this game by twenty odd points, so some things never change. The real gamer changer was getting 'QI' with the 'Q' on a triple letter, resulting in best part of 70 points. Score.

In other news Blur took me back a few years with a passionate medley of their classic tracks on last nights Brits. Parklife and Song 2 are amongst my favourite Blur tracks, and for some reason Boys and Girls encapsulates the spirit of 94-96 perfectly. I remember seeing them at V97 in Leeds as those magical Britpop days faded into a 'blur' of Simon Cowell induced pop shit. In the decade and a half since capitalist bullshit has steadily slit the cultural throat of our nation, and it was nice to see a band still carrying the spirit of those lost days into the uninspiring world around them.

Anyone else think Parklife sounds more punk than pop these days?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.