Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

TULIPS

Blip shows a couple of the tulips from a bunch that I won as a prize. The bunch was too big to fit in one vase so I split it into two.

Usual Wednesday today. Morning was Asda for the big weekly shop. My friend Jan gives me a lift and before we go to Asda we always call in to see her mother in law D who has dementia. Jan calls in every morning to check on her and take her dog for a walk. While Jan and the dog are away I stay and chat with D. Its heavy going as she forgets what has been said. She asks me if I want a cup of tea - I say No - I don't drink tea - but then in a couple of mins she asks again, and again, and again. She talks about the past a lot but its the same stories every week. She often forgets that her husband is dead and wonders where he is. She once asked if I was Jan's mother - not amusing as Jan and I are exactly the same age!

She has carers who come in 3 times a day but they tend to pop in, give her her meals etc and are gone - no time to chat. So I think she enjoys chatting away to me without feeling she is being checked on or cared for. I'm just a visitor to her home so she feels relaxed.

When I got back from Asda I found Cookie asleep on my bed. I had a nap in the afternoon myself as I felt a bit weary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.