Livraphotos

By Livra

Goldfinch with peanut

Mostly dry and sunny at times, just the occasional drizzle. Usually the weather isn't too bad for Fridays when I volunteer at the RSPB Reserve at Lochwinnoch. Maybe I shouldn't tempt fate!

Today was hard work as the 2 other volunteers that I work with didn't come today. After filling all the feeders, my job today was to collect some gravel in a wheelbarrow and fill in the pot holes in the car park. Had to soak in the bath when I came back. Later I am going out for an Italian meal with the 'girls'.

Not long after I arrived this morning, a male bullfinch was on one of the flat feeders, of course did not stay long enough for me to get the camera out. The birds are beautiful just now as they are getting into their breeding plumage. The bullfinch was glorious and also the reed buntings, 2 weeks ago had much lighter heads, today their heads were a brilliant black. Excitement out on the loch as the Smew was swimming along the reed bed (a first ever for me). It was far out so only could be seen through the scopes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.