2+3+1+1

By tpd

sparkles

Busy busy day, lots on at work. However +1/2 and I managed to sneak off for a birthday lunch here (it's +1/2's birthday tomorrow) which was delicious; cassoulet for +1/2 and Toulouse sausage and salad for me.

The picture is of the card that +1/3 and +2/3 made for us.

Look away now if you don't want to read random physics thoughts.

I love the sparkly/diffractive nature of whatever it is that covers the card. I think it's usually listed as 'holographic film' or similar and I suppose it could be: real holographic film has a spatial resolution of up to 4000 lines/mm so if you exposed it such that you ended up with a set of parallel lines spaced by about 1 micron you would get a transmission grating that would show the above. CDs are the same; they have a spiral track of pits and the pitch of the spiral is about 1.6 microns, the surface of the disk is then coated in a thin layer of metal.

That sounds a bit hard to make in volume and so cheaply, so I suspect the film is made by stretching metalized plastic film of some type very slightly to give lots of little parallel tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.