Lunchtime today Su5hma and I went to a talk at the National Portrait Gallery - the curator's talk about the exhibition Romantic Camera - Scottish Photography and the Modern World.

I had no real idea as to what the talk would be about when we went - I'd just seen it on the website and thought it could be interesting. It was - however there were so many people at it, that on the second half of the talk when we moved to a less than ideal area, I couldn't hear anything over the workmen outside. I didn't have that long to wander round so I'll have to go back to have a proper look (and with a notepad so I can look up the photographers later!), but the opening photograph of the exhibition stuck in my head - the photo by Michael Reisch on this page - I knew I recognised it, but couldn't place it. It's Glen Coe - but what he'd done was remove the road and any signs of human habitation so it's just a green landscape. At the size it was reproduced, it was quite beautiful.

Anyways, once we'd left the exhibition we saw the workmen that were the source of the noise - so I took the shot as the clouds swirling about were quite intriguing. Annoyingly enough, I forgot I was on manual focus and thus didn't look closely at the focus (aaaaargh, when will I learn) so the chap doing the work was all fuzzy - a little like the end of the talk for me as I only caught every other word. I played about with the colours to make them somewhat surreal - in the same way that I felt only hearing bits of the talk at the end was odd - and to me it feels somewhat hard to look at as the colours are too bright - just as they were too noisy.

There. That's my reasoning. But I do like the picture - something about the almost HDR-like crazy colourness fits how I felt after the talk. First time I've tried to process something to show how I feel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.