ode to a locket...

...i never had

back in the day... little lockets were all the rage - remember that? it was in the day when my mother was a young thing... and/or in my grandmother's day, as well... they'd keep very tiny portraits of their loved ones tucked inside... close to their hearts - for safe keeping, i believe... a sign of devotion - of love everlasting... it said to those sweethearts "we are yours forever and ever..."

i never had a locket of my own... and by the time i was growing up, the size of lockets had grown up, too... being much larger than the one here - this is very tiny - in fact, i'm not sure how my mother got any picture in it at all... but lockets during my childhood seemed oversized in comparison - not quite as tender hearted as this one... more for decoration - missing the point of what they were originally intended for...

i'll continue to gaze at this one - knowing the true meaning: imaging it hanging around my mother's neck, close to her heart - her dreaming of my daddy with a gleam in her eye and a faraway look on her face. that makes for...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.