Hector's House

By MisterPrime

For Tomorrow...

There's nothing like being positive..., eh? I noticed a gate with a cool wonky bit of pink wood with the house number 100 stuck to it the other day and filed the image away for a nice, self-referential, self-congratulatory blip for today. Unfortunately I was a bit more random as regards the actual whereabouts of said gate and I ended up rambling around 'the hood' a bit this morning failing to find it. Then I allowed the idea to further distract me from my errands as I checked out a couple of places in town where said number might (but didn't) crop up interestingly instead. Anyway, Bill the Barber is at 101 Mansfield Road so that'll have to do - and I'm certainly not going back to take another picture tomorrow so here it is in all it's forward(backward)-looking glory...

Went to see a decent-looking film about which I knew next to nothing at the Broadway last night and it turned out to be pretty good. 'Martha Marcy May Marlene' is not (such as the trailer might lead you to believe) your standard-issue tense thriller about a girl on the run from a Mansonesque cult, but more an absorbing (and actually still pretty tense) little Amer-Indie thing about said girl trying to reintegrate into so-called 'normal' society after fleeing to her big sister's house. The relationship between the sisters was beautifully observed and acted, and MMMM's struggle to navigate between her memories, dreams, conditioning and her fragile grasp on reality was kind of strange and beautiful and absorbing. Highly recommended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.