CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

THE BEST DAYS OF OUR LIVES

(Thai takeaway last night.)

I took my 'O'-levels shortly before my 16th birthday in the summer of '67 (Sgt Pepper; Summer of Love), in Singapore at a new comprehensive school for the children of UK servicemen and civilians. (Look, there's me at Sports Day that year! I came last at 400m, shotput, javelin and something else that I don't recall because it was too humiliating, but might have involved some form of jumping.)

It was a strange mix of traditional discipline and a few progressive ideas. There was corporal punishment; boys' hair had to be above the collar at the back and girls' hemlines no higher than 4 inches above the knee (and the deputy head would stand at the door of the Hall, even at school dances, with a ruler and anyone who didn't meet the standard would be sent home to change - or get a haircut). On the other hand, the prefects had a smoking room.

In those days there was no study leave for exams, and we had to stay on afterwards until the end of term. We had a lovely pool and fantastic sports facilities, and the staff devised various activities to entertain a bunch of bored and slightly resentful 15-to-19 year olds. At some stage somebody must have thought it would be an excellent educational opportunity to take a coachload of us on a visit to the Tiger Brewery. And somebody must have thought it would be a really good idea to let Mr D. - a well-known alcoholic (well-known to us kids, at least) - take charge.

The staff at the Brewery showed us round - it was all very interesting - and then without a qualm took us through to the hospitality lounge. Their hospitality was boundless, and I don't recall how we got back to the coach and back to school. I do remember that Mr D. was in a worse state than anyone else. There were a few hours before we had to get the buses home, so I was a bit more compos mentis by the time I got home, and I don't think my parents ever knew.

In fact, as far as I can remember, I don't think there were ever any repercussions at all (except that the Tiger Brewery may never have accepted school parties again).

Then again, it was the Sixties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.