Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Ouch!

I was so disappointed tonight as I headed off to bed....no Blip.

I picked up the Nikon and looked to see if there were any pictures taken today. Silly me, I spent most of the day awaiting a new washing machine to be delivered. I guess I had forgotten I had taken a few photos of the Rose-Breasted Woodpecker I featured here on Sunday.

I had initially thought this bird was a young male, but now I am thinking it just might be a female.

Either way, this bird was chattering so loudly this morning, it called me to the window to shoot a few pictures. It is unusual to see one of these birds perched on a branch...they seem to favor moving up and down the trunks of the tree.

This photo shows the lovely backside of the bird, which I love....the "checkerboard look"! As you can see, the little bird decided to do a full 180 headspin just as this photo was taken! Thus, the title!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.