Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

An odd duck

I took a short walk along The Water of Leith this afternoon and there were the usual collection of ducks (Mallards) and gulls (er, black & white ones :-) and a single swan. Then I saw these two oddly coloured "ducks" swimming along, when they got closer I noticed they had rather sharp pointed beaks instead of "bills" like a regular duck.

When I got home I checked the RSPB bird identifier web site and it looks like it was a pair of Goosanders and this is the female, according to the site, they are "diving ducks" that use their sharp bills to catch fish. I did see the male (not pictured) dive a couple times, but didn't see him actually surface (I guess he can hold his breath for quite a while!). Anyway it was nice to get a picture of a bird I hadn't seen before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.