A world of her own

Today's blip is a street blip outside Bradford town hall.

I love books & people who read. If I had my way everyone would be educated to a level where reading was a pleasure & not just for study (my partner doesn't understand reading for pleasure & used to ask what I was studying for lol). I think this would solve a lot of society's ills.

Anyway these guys say it a lot more eloquently than I ever could:

The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel must be intolerably stupid.
- Jane Austen

Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.
- Harper Lee

If you go home with somebody and they don't have books in their house, don't sleep with them. I think that's very important.
- John Waters

There are two motives for reading a book: one, that you enjoy it; the other, that you can boast about it.
- Bertrand Russell

People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.
- Logan Pearsall Smith

Wicked people never have time for reading. It's one of the reasons for their wickedness.
- Lemony Snicket

No book is really worth reading at the age of ten which is not equally - and often far more - worth reading at the age of fifty and beyond.
- C. S. Lewis

The best moments in reading are when you come across something - a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things - that you'd thought special, particular to you. And here it is, set down by someone else, a person you've never met, maybe even someone long dead. And it's as if a hand has come out, and taken yours.
- Alan Bennett

It is what you read when you don't have to that determines what you will be when you can't help it.
- Oscar Wilde

Enjoy your Friday evening guys & gals!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.