Let There Be Light

By solli

The Summit Diner

Once upon a time, way back in 1982, as the interest rates hit double digits and folks were locked out of home purchases, I lived in a very pretty town called Summit. I was a young woman in my twenties with aspirations of buying my home and climbing the high mountain peaks.

Although the dreams didn't pan out, my connections to the town have remained strong: as a teen I delivered The Daily Journal to 120 residents, my son was born in Overlook Hospital, his pediatrician's practice is there, as is my camera store. Meryl Streep was born and raised in Summit, Main Street's businesses continue to thrive, the homes are historic, and the Summit diner is the best place to go when one wants a cheap and tasty bowl of soup.

The diner is a streamline 1938 Jerry O'Mahoney original; a now defunct Elizabeth, NJ manufacturer who DaveRI first mentioned in his diner series. If you're inclined to like quirky eateries, please check out his and CatnipKitty's journal. They've both been on a diner blipping roll.

Happy Friday everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.