Bits of Life Thru A Lens

By KimD

Sunrise Celebration

Lots to choose from today. Today was a celebration for me ... my own personal independence day.

One year ago today I stood up to a bully. One year ago today the fear of the known became greater than the fear of the unknown. One year ago today I stopped allowing someone to steal my life. One year ago today I realized I had right to feel safe in my own home. One year ago today I stopped worrying that I couldn't take care of my kids and realized I wasn't taking care of them by allowing them to grow up in that environment. One year ago today I remembered it was okay to make mistakes but it was not okay to keep repeating them. One year ago today I stopped thinking in terms of what I couldn't do and started thinking in terms of what I could do. One year ago today I found out I was stronger than I had ever imagined. One year ago today was the first day of the rest of my life and you know what? It's a good good life!

Went to dinner with my children and some friends then kids hung at my home while grown-ups did some grown-up celebrating. It was a great way to mark this very important anniversary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.