Friday Foto

By drmackem

Chaos

I suppose chaos is norm but I usually try to keep a illusion of organisation in my life.

This week is a bit stretching with work, good and old friends coming to see us tomorrow night for a meal and catch up, Matt's 18th birthday and celebrations, mum and Beth coming to visit and stay. We have it all organised and planned....just.

So I arrive home from work to find that the decorator arrived today(we forgot about that) has rendered the dining room, kitchen and lounge almost unusable til "the end of the week". Not only that but Matt has announced that in chaotic kitchen he is now going to bake a four layered cake ("how hard can it be Dad?"), having never baked so much as a potato in his previous 18 years. When I last looked there was cake mixture visible in all kinds of non conventional places. So I retired to a calm room to phone my mum, who tells me she's planning to travel down the day after Matt's birthday rather than the day before as planned, but is too distracted to talk about this by the football, she is a Mags supporter(my shame I know), they scored, she comes on all breathless (watching Newcastle play will kill her one day), only to have Arsenal equalise a minute later(order restored?)- who needs radio or cable TV - phone my mum for a commentary!. I'll phone her tomorrow. I could go on.

So keep calm and blip.......honest I'm not kidding but I can smell burning now from the kitchen.

Today shot is of the dining room table that has been artfully arranged by the decorator.

PS A commonly used definition of chaos theory says that, for a dynamical system to be classified as chaotic, it must have the following properties:
it must be sensitive to initial conditions;
it must be topologically mixing; and
its periodic orbits must be dense.
All three properties are currently true chez nous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.