This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

Today was my last day with my visiting friend Ashley but we made it count and saw a lot more and walked a lot more before I walked her over to the Waverly bridge to catch the bus out to the airport.

While we were out I spied this book at a charity shop and decided I needed to know even more about this majestic, gothic city I have been calling home since January and until May. It is a good little book.

Sorry the blips have been a bit shit while I have been visiting with my friend... Let's see where did we go during the last four days...

Sunday

Meet on Waverly Bridge
Walk through city center to hotel
Calton Hill
Old Calton Cemetary
The High Street/ Castle Esplanade
City Cafe (lunch)
Old St. Paul's Church (for an art exhibition)
Fruit market gallery (to share our distaste)
Siam Thani (dinner)
Barony Bar
Black Bull (loud heavy metal juke box fail)
Cafe Royal (didn't stay- they were closing)
Milnes (folks need to get a room and get dressed)

Monday
Walked over to Stockbridge
visited every Charity shop on the street that was open except one!
Maxi's (for lunch)
Saw the Gormley in the waters of Leith
Walked along the walkway under the Dean Bridge.
Dean cemetery
Scottish Gallery of Modern Art (sculpture show)
Barony Bar (CHIPS!)
Then later to Stewart's for La Favorita Pizza and beer

Tuesday

High Street
St. Giles Cathedral
Victoria Street
bookstore
ran into fellow blipper!! (Such a thrill to run into someone here!)
Red Door Gallery
Armstrongs
Book store
Pubic Triangle
Film House (lunch Curry)
Herman Brown
Book Store
Jewelry store
Greyfriars Kirk
National Museum of Scotland (quick walk through)
Old College
Spoon (for Cake and coffee)
Charity shop
Princes St.
Lush
Barony Bar (chips!- and the last hurah!)

Wednesday

Embo (see my exhibition, lunch, coffee)
2 Charity Shops on Leith walk
Walk, Walk, walk....
Botanical Garden/Cafe/Glass House/Gift Shop
Walk...
Hotel
Treacle
Hotel
Walk to Waverly Bridge
Airport bus and say goodbye.

Whew! I won't be leaving the house, walking, having a beer, or any chips for a few days. It was fun to see my dear friend in another part of the world and it was fun to navigate the town without Stewart, just to prove to myself I could.










Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.