David J. Rose

By djrose007

Spring is just about sprung.

Despite it being a cold, damp, dank, misty day today we went shopping in the morning including Pets at Home, as it's Jonty and Foxy's favourite shop, and Blooms at Quedgeley to pick up some plants.
So the afternoon was spent potting on 67 plants, 60 of them small flower seedlings and the odd 7 were Tomato plants.
They are in our little plastic greenhoue thingy which should protect them from frost but also harden them off with the cold weather coming back.

The weather put me in mind of being back in South Shields but doing the seedlings made me think of an old poem we used to say when I was a child.
"Spring is sprung, the grass is ris.
I wonders where the birdies is.
They say the birds is on the wing.
Ain't that absurd?
I always thought the wing was on the bird."
Ok, it a bit more Milligan than Milton but it used to make us laugh! It's actually by Ogden Nash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.